Soccer Awards

There is more than your score and stats that earn you recognition in the world of soccer. It is the awards. The awards are there for the finest athletes, clubs, and plays, and we are going to talk a little bit about the types of awards there are, as well as some notable names.

Globe Soccer Awards

Every year, the European Association of Player’s Agents and European Club Association come together to put on an amazing show we know and love called the Globe Soccer Awards. There are many categories and every soccer fan cheers his favorite team and athletes on during these Oscars of the soccer world. While we are waiting eagerly for the results of 2018, let us remember the outstanding players from the past years.

The Best Club of the Year 2017 was, unsurprisingly, Real Madrid. This is their second award in this category in a row, and third overall. Every year Real Madrid was considered the best club was also the year Cristiano Ronaldo was awarded the Best Player of the Year. The perfect team wouldn’t be much without a perfect coach, which is why Zinedine Zidane was honored with the rest of the team when he received the award for the Best Coach.

There was a total of 14 categories in 2017. Apart from those mentioned, there are a few that are interesting, like the Best National Arab Team Coach, the Master Coach Special Award, and the Best League of the Year. Interestingly enough, some of these categories are a one-time thing.

Ballon d’Or

Another award given on a yearly basis is Ballon d’Or or Golden Ball. The France Football magazine has been issuing this award to special players since the 1950s, based on the opinions and votes of soccer journalists. In 2017, Real Madrid and Cristiano Ronaldo were the winners of Ballon d’Or, which means that 2017 was one of the best years for the club and the player. In 2018, however, Luka Modric got the award.

Interestingly enough, the countries with the most Ballon d’Or awards are Germany, the Netherland, and Portugal, all tying at 7 wins. The clubs with the most wins are Real Madrid (obviously) and Barcelona, with 11 wins each.

The Best FIFA Football Awards

The list of soccer awards would be incomplete without the Best FIFA Football Awards. They come in several categories:

  •         The Best FIFA Men’s Player
  •         The Best FIFA Women’s Player
  •         The Best FIFA Goalkeeper
  •         The Best FIFA Men’s Coach
  •         The Best FIFA Women’s Coach
  •         FIFA Fair Play Award
  •         FIFA Puskás Award
  •         FIFA Fan Award
  •         FIFA FIFPro World11

This award ceremony, conducted by FIFA, has only been around since 2016. The idea was to bring back the old FIFA World Player of the Year. In 2018, Luka Modric beat the previous winner, Ronaldo, for the Best FIFA Men’s Player. The Best Women’s Player was Marta Vieira da Silva, who plays for the Orlando Pride, and is a famous record holder for the most goals scored during the World Cup – 15.

Leave a Reply